[in which I type for 5 straight minutes stopping only when the timer goes ding]

Today, and also tomorrow, is my friend’s birthday.

He lives on the other side of the world, and already, he’s his new age.

This is a new friend, and from what I can tell, he likely won’t have some crazy big party, spend a lot of money, or expect anyone to get him anything. Instead, he will probably be working, taking care of other people, and maybe hang out with some friends and drink some beer.

I drank beer with him not long ago, and it was the most important imbibing I’ve ever done, I think. I say this because it helped form this friendship that, while new, has made a profound change in how I think about this ball of earth and what I’m doing on it.

There are many things about the immediate surroundings that make sense to me: take care of the people around you, solve problems that need fixing, try to expand your field of vision, even incrementally. But this night of drinking beer, using words carefully to communicate, laughing over universal jokes and getting to know more about

