Well, that was fast.

After I sent the requested form to Holt Korea, I received a reply that same day:

Dear Ms. Joy Osmanski,

Thank you for your contact and the completed request form.

To search birth family, we need any of identifying information about your birth family. But as you may know from your adoption records, there is nothing about your birth family even birth place. I really hate to say but there is no possibility to locate your birth family at this point. Hope your understanding. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Xxxxxx

Hm. Okay, so I went back to the folks at G.O.A.’L. and conveyed this response…they told me to try again with Holt Korea and give more information. So I sent info about the location where I was found, the orphanage I went to, dates, etc.. That’s it, though. That’s all I know.

The conspiracy theorist in me (it’s a small persona, but it’s there) wonders if there isn’t a really good reason for an adoption agency to withhold any information about a supposed “orphan.” After all, I believe it’s still illegal for Korean children to be adopted out of country if family still exists. I think? And back in the day, orphans didn’t even have legal status in the country. Without family, you were literally nothing.

So.

I wonder if I can still go on one of those shows…and if so, what it would entail? Would it be a complete waste of time?

When I got the email from Holt Korea, I was surprised to find that it bothered me. Not that I was really expecting anything, but the email was so…brief. But then, what else could it have been? They must field many inquiries.

Interestingly enough, my guy at G.O.A.’L. tells me it’s unusual for there to be absolutely no information about birthplace or birth family.

Yup, that’s interesting.

