Let me break it down:

I’ve just put a blue ice pack into a tube sock and tied the entire thing around my neck.

What’s that, you say? You’re  genius? The cold on the back of your neck is heaven? Aren’t you choking a little?

Yes, yes, and yes.

I’m taking a break from the regularly scheduled meltdown to attempt a blog entry in 111º weather. It’s times like these when it’s interesting to consider that a portion of the globe is bathed in this kind of swelter on a regular basis. The folks in those places have learned how to deal. They dress accordingly. They BUILD accordingly.  They move economically.

Unlike me who just did a kind of heat-crazed jig.

Question: What’s the most non-brilliant thing to do on a day such as today?

Answer: LAUNDRY.

Suck it, weather. Air-conditioning is for wimps. Good for you, wimps.

I’m blasting Band of Horses and thinking Antarctic thoughts. Who’s more creative – those who sit, blandly, amid cool temperatures, or those of us who wiggle with grief every five minutes? That’s what I’m saying. I’m creating all kinds of solutions to world problems RIGHT NOW.

Actually, my pores feel amazing. I just caught sight of my reflection, and apart from the sock and the thick sheen of perspiration, I’m glowing. Radiant me. Radiating…health.

