Two Days In

I don’t think anyone, ever, lay on his or her deathbed and said I wish I hadn’t eaten such wonderful food.

Which is why I will always live for that out-of-body hover that comes while consuming beautiful dishes.

This year, C and I rang it in over several courses of delicious and laughed a lot and thought about the past year and remembered things and drank wine. Then we stopped by a party full of the kind of life you can only experience if you’re in a room of glowing, lovely young people. 

I’m some thousands of miles away from home doing a play that most people think is Quaint and Charming and Nostalgic.

Nope.

Often, the play is terrifying. Which is its particular genius. That high school drama clubs put on this classic with aplomb may be the play’s greatest feint, because the the severity of the one-two that quickly follows will knock the breath right out of you. 

So far, the play has exhausted, moved, and deeply unsettled me. And for that, I’m profoundly grateful.

2014 is still attached by its umbilical cord, but already I’ve seen countless resolutions and pledges and staunch statements about the future. Making public New Year’s resolutions has never made much sense to me. I guess I feel like it’s no one’s business what I’m trying to do here, in this life.

So far, I’ve seen my husband look at me with so much love it makes my eyelids ache. My stepdaughter texted me to see how the play is going and to tell me what kind of ice cream she ate. My dog just got a bath and a haircut.

Now there are some things we all know, but we don’t take’m out and look at’m very often. We all know that something is eternal. And it ain’t houses and it’s ain’t names, and it ain’t earth, and it ain’t even the stars…everybody knows in their bones that something is eternal, and that something has to do with human beings. All the greatest people ever lived have been telling us that for five thousand years and yet you’d be surprised how people are always losing hold of it. There’s something way down deep that’s eternal about every human being.  

Thornton Wilder, Our Town 

One response to this post.

  1. I miss you! I miss eating with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers

